Muskegon Taekwondo has been at its current location on Apple Avenue for over 35 years, however, the history of the club, and of the KangDukWon style we teach, goes back much further.
Great Grandmaster Byung In Yoon (1920 - 1983) learned Chuan Fa in Manchuria, China in the 1930's. In 1937 he went to Japan to be educated at Nihon University and there trained with Toyama Kanken, the founder of Shudokan. After World War II, Mr. Yoon taught Kwon Bup in Seoul, South Korea until the Korean War, when his older brother took him to North Korea. He was not allowed to return to South Korea after the war and remained in North Korea until his death in 1983.
Great Grandmaster Chul Hee Park (1933 - present ) began training with Byung In Yoon in Korea in 1946. After Mr. Yoon disappeared during the Korean War, Mr. Park continued to teach Kwon Bup along with Jung Pyo Hong. About 1954, Mr. Park and Mr. Hong founded a new Kwan, which Mr. Park named Kang Duk Won (School of Virtue). Mr. Park continues to teach Kang Duk Won Kwon Bup to this day.
Great Grandmaster Hwa Chong (1939 - present) trained under Mr. Park in the mid 1950ís. Through Mr. Parkís correspondence with Mr. Stolberg, Mr. Chong was able to come to the United States in 1967. Mr. Chong was educated at Michigan State University and began teaching taekwondo at the University of Michigan and in the Detroit area. Mr. Chong is a past president of the United States Taekwondo Union and is influential in taekwondo throughout the world. He currently serves as a consultant to the World Taekwondo Federation.
Grandmaster Carl Stolberg (1941 - 2007) became a student of Mr. Park soon after corresponding with him in 1962. After Mr. Chong came to the United States Mr. Stolberg began training with him. In the 1960ís Mr. Stolberg began teaching taekwondo and taught continuously in Muskegon for more than 40 years. Over the years Mr. Stolberg received national recognition for his contributions to taekwondo. He was an advisor to the Michigan State Taekwondo Association and an advisory member of the Legislative Committee of the World Taekwondo Federation. He passed away April 28, 2007.